Candidates Forum for Westborough’s Town Election

On Sunday, February 21st, the Westborough Democratic Town Committee (DTC) hosted their annual “Candidates Forum” with a group of candidates for elective office in the town of Westborough. See below for specifics and participants. The Candidates Forum can be viewed on Westborough TV’s YouTube channel and will be re-run on TV in Westborough on Verizon 28 & Charter 192. The forum allowed for opening and closing statements by each of the candidates, along with some DTC-selected questions posed to those running. 

The Westborough Democratic Town Committee sponsors this event every year as a service to the town and to encourage voters to become participants in the election process. “Democracy is not a spectator sport,” noted Kate Donaghue who hosted the forum.

5:30pm Welcome and overview
Planning Board: Two candidates participating: Peter Bouchard and Zafar Siddiqui are candidates for one position on the Planning Board. 
Library Trustees and Housing Authority: Three candidates participating: Carolyn Spring is a candidate for one of the three 3 year positions for Trustees for the Public Library. Debra Cushman and Fiona McDonald are candidates for a single one year term for Trustees for the Public Library. Jill Dupree is a candidate for Housing Authority. 
Board of Selectmen: Five candidates participating: Sean Keogh, Syed Hashmi and Shelby Marshall are running for two positions on the Board of Selectmen for three year terms, while Tom Dolan and Patrick Welch are running for a single one year term on the Board of Selectmen.
7:30pm Thank you and closing remarks.

Election day is Tuesday, March 2, 2021. For anyone not voting early, polls will be open from 8am-8pm at Westborough Town Hall, 34 West Main Street. For more information, please visit the Town Clerk’s website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.